Enterprise Monitor: “Add Bulk MySQL Instances” 50 in 1-click.

Carrying on with my MySQL 5.7 Labs Multi Source Replication scenario, I wanted to evaluate performance impact via MySQL Enterprise Monitor.

Whilst I opened my environment, I remember that I had generated lots of different skeleton scripts that allowed me to deploy the 50 servers quickly, and I didn’t want to add each of my targets 1 by 1 in MEM. So, I used one of the many features available, “Add Bulk MySQL Instances”.

So, I’ve got 50 (3001-3050) masters but only 1 slave (3100).

By default, MEM monitors it’s own repository, i.e. the 1/1 server being monitored in the All group.

I want to add my slave in first, because that’s how I’m organizing things, and I’ll take the opportunity to create the monitoring group I want to keep them all in.

Click on “Add MySQL Instance” and after entering the server details for 3100, I go to Group Settings, and add a special group for all my servers:

Adding a New Group

Adding a New Group

As no group existed before, I write the name I want to call the new group, and the comment “new group” appears, i.e. confirming that it’s a new group.

In fact, in the greyed out part, you can see that there are 45 of the 50 unmonitored. I’ve got 5 to start yet, but almost there.

Now to add them in in Bulk mode.

I’ve got a few I haven’t started, and MEM tells me that there are 44 instances up and running and eager to be monitored:

44 of the 50 new instances are unmonitored.

44 of the 50 new instances are unmonitored.

Click on the Add Bulk MySQL Instances button.

The following window appears:

One window, 50 servers added.

One window, 50 servers added.

So with some copy & pasting, I’ve got all 50 servers added into the Connection Endpoint window, made sure each port is ok and entered the root user & passwd which is the same for all servers here. I also chose to not create the general & limited users, but could have done so to ease monitoring all with the root user.

And that’s it. All servers that are up and running are added. As I haven’t started them all, I will see those 6 as Bad Configurations, i.e. unreachable because it’s hard to connect if it’s just not there…

Now I’m going to go away and look at the performance graphs for the different load tests.

2 thoughts on “Enterprise Monitor: “Add Bulk MySQL Instances” 50 in 1-click.

  1. Mark Matthews says:

    Hi Keith,

    Thanks for blogging about MEM and the bulk add feature. I thought you might like to know, that for an environment like yours, there’s an even *easier* way to configure this. MySQL Enterprise Monitor also has an “automatically monitor after process discovery” feature that works as long as you have credentials that are the same on all of your instances (which in your case, they are). Go to Configuration -> Advisors, then open the “Monitoring and Support Services” category, and expand it. Click on the drop-down menu for the “MySQL Process Discovery” entry, and choose “Edit Advisor Configuration”. Answer “Yes” for the “Attempt Connection” choice, and the rest is similar to the add/edit connection dialog. Once this is configured, any time a MEM agent discovers a MySQL process that MEM isn’t monitoring, it will first attempt to use this stored set of credentials to setup monitoring of that instance.

Leave a Reply

